The Tradewell Fellowship

The Fellowship offers a fast-track to collaborating with clients and thought leaders - positioning tomorrow's healthcare planners and designers for rapid career advancement to design, build, and heal.

The Tradewell Fellowship logo

The Tradewell Fellowship offers aspiring healthcare architects exceptional career-building opportunities. Named in honor of the late Gary Tradewell, a former Vice President and Medical Planner, it is the most established fellowship of its kind with over two decades of legacy and counting!

Fellows will be immersed in the field and have the opportunity to continue their education with an individual healthcare architecture research topic of their choice. Other benefits of the Tradewell fellowship include funding to attend a national conference of choice, direct involvement in client user meetings, and travel opportunities. By the end of their fellowship year, participants are well positioned for career advancement and leadership roles.

Applications for the 2023-2024 Tradewell Fellowship are closed. Check back this fall for information on applying for the 2024-2025 Tradewell Fellowship.

Please see this FAQ for questions.

The Tradewell fellowship enables me to meaningfully contribute to the creation of healing environments through which patients, caretakers, and communities can live up to their full potential and flourish. And personally, I will gain valuable experience collaborating with top healthcare professionals.

Ali Momen-Heravi Tradewell Fellow

The Tradewell fellowship is a unique opportunity, it allows me to deep dive into designing for an aging population and equips me with all the resources I need to contribute to the healthcare industry in a meaningful manner.

Sharanya Reddy Tradewell Fellow

Tradewell Fellows

Grid featuring headshots of previous Tradewell Fellows

    • 2022 - Ali Momen-Heravi, Sharanya Reddy
    • 2021 - Calise Gritters, Dani Kolker
    • 2020 - Jack Reed, Liyang Zhang
    • 2019 - Lam Nguyen, Mariah Gresko
    • 2018 - Wenz Tuttle
    • 2017 - Jacqueline Guerra
    • 2016 - Jessica Welch
    • 2015 - ZhouZhou Su
    • 2014 - Renee Fiala
    • 2013 - Shuo Yang
    • 2012 - Akshay Sangolli
    • 2010 - Stephanie Schwindel
    • 2009 - Kelly Thomas
    • 2008 - Diana Anderson
    • 2007 - Diane Griffin
    • 2006 - Elizabeth Schmitz
    • 2005 - Shouvik Chakraborty
    • 2004 - Hilal Ozcan
    • 2003 - Sarah (Henry) Fronick
    • 2002 - Bhargav Goswami
    • 2001 - Paula Cepparo
    • 2000 - Tushar Gupta
    • 1999 - Dera-Jill Lamontagne
    • 1998 - Lia Rodi
    • 1997 - Maurie Duderstadt Gray

    Retroactive Fellows

    • Victor Lange
    • Mark Vaughan
    • Leslie Stubblefield
    • William Schlein

Guidance and Inspiration

Since the establishment of the Fellowship, five successive Curators have advanced Gary Tradewell's vision of healing environments, collaborative design, mentorship, and knowledge sharing. The Curator is responsible for mentoring the Fellow, coordinating project assignments, and organizing Tradewell events and deadlines, and representing the Fellowship within and outside the firm. Each Curator embodies the firm's commitment to excellence through guiding and inspiring tomorrow's thought leaders.

  • Kirk 2.jpgKirk Hamilton
  • Charles Cadenhead_01 BW.jpgCharles Cadenhead
  • Lia Johnson 418-1041.jpg Lia Rodi
  • Stephanie Schwindel_01 BW_0.jpgStephanie Schwindel
  • Renee Fiala__01 BW.jpgRenee Fiala

Join the Legacy

The Tradewell Fellowship is a unique program which encourages motivated young professionals to create their own career path and contribute original research to the profession. Articles or chapters by past Fellows have appeared in publications including Design for Critical Care: An Evidence-Based Approach, Designing for Multidisciplinary Rounding Practices in the Critical Care Setting, and Society for Critical Care Medicine’s Guidelines for Intensive Care Unit Design.

What’s New

View All